Free will and fate

  1. I believe I have free will.
  2. I would like you to think that you have free will.
  3. However, whether you and I choose to really believe in free will and therefore act on it is fated.
  4. I do not blame you for what you were fated to do, but I do blame you because of 2.

I do not wish you to think that you have free will just for the sake of it. A passionate belief in free will is powerful and life-changing for the individual – that’s the point of the notion. Whether particular definitions of it actually exist is irrelevant. The belief in free will and the belief in non-free will both create fate. The question is, will you free will your fate? Are you responsible for you or are you a hapless victim of fate? You only get one life to answer this question.

Leave a Reply

