What a way to will to power!

You may think I am masochistic for posting this, but I thought it was an awesome example of a Christian martyr (Ignatius) possessing ‘will to power’ (passionate self expression, assertion) in sacrificing his life for a cause he thought most noble.

Now is the moment I am beginning to be a disciple. May nothing seen or unseen begrudge me making my way to Jesus Christ. Come fire, cross, battling with wild beasts, wrenching of bones, mangling of limbs, crushing of my whole body, cruel tortures of the devil–only let me get to Jesus Christ! Not the wide bounds of earth nor the kingdoms of this world will avail me anything. “I would rather die” and get to Jesus Christ, than reign over the ends of the earth. That is whom I am looking for–the One who died for us. That is whom I want–the One who rose for us. I am going through the pangs of being born. Sympathize with me, my brothers! Do not stand in the way of my coming to life–do not wish death on me. Do not give back to the world one who wants to be God’s; do not trick him with material things. Let me get into the clear light and manhood will be mine. Let me imitate the Passion of my God.

Early Christian Fathers – Ignatius’ letter to the Romans

Leave a Reply

