Why ask the question of the meaning of life?

Freudians may see my asking the question as an indication that I was having issues with my sex and work life.

To satisfy their curiosity:

  • sex: not getting enough
  • work: getting too much

But seriously, I do see where they are coming from. Although, I would like to add that I had the above issues before I seriously examined the question.

Where might the Freudian be coming from…

Isn’t the point of life simply to live it, dealing with any personal issues as effectively as possible as soon as they arise? Just throw yourself into life, deal with the problems you can and then resign yourself to fate. Questions of meaning distract us from the main game.

That is not a bad philosophy, but far too naive for me. I cannot resign myself to the vagaries of a directionless life. I cannot, in good conscience, just immerse myself into my culture like one of the herd. I want to take philosophical charge of my life. I want to take responsibility. I want to use the freedom I have to create my life. This means I must ask questions of meaning in order to find a truth which is true for me, to find the idea for which I can live and die.

Leave a Reply

