Philosopher’s version of Que Sera, Sera

(Nietzsche)
When I was just a little girl
I told my mother, what I will to power
I will be pretty, I will be rich
Here’s what she said to me.

(Sartre)
Que Sera, Sera,
Whatever will be, I will be
The future is ours, to take responsibility
Que Sera, Sera
What will be, I will be.

(Kierkegaard)
When I was young, I fell in love
I asked my sweetheart, what lies ahead?
We will have melancholy, day after day
Here’s what my sweetheart said.

(Hegel)
Que Sera, Sera,
Whatever will be, the spirit wills be
The past is ours, to re-see
Que Sera, Sera
What will be, the spirit wills be.

(Heidegger)
Now I have rectorship of my own
The students ask me, what is it ‘to be’?
Will I be, being-in-the-world?
I tell them tenderly.

(Schopenhauer)
Que Sera, Sera,
Whatever will be, the will wills be
The future’s fucked-up and then you die, you will see
Que Sera, Sera
What will be, the will wills be.

Leave a Reply

