Identification

Am I? …

  • Australian
  • White (Anglo-Saxon)
  • Middle class
  • Male
  • Christian
  • Buddhist
  • Left-wing
  • University educated
  • IT Professional

These identities are part of my social self, but there is a danger that I will conflate them with my real self (supposing that such as a self exists). I may try to honour these identities because I think they are me. I may take defensive or aggressive pride in these identities. Nationalism, racism, class prejudice, sexism, religious intolerance, political fanaticism, intellectual arrogance and occupational boasting are dangers lurking at the door.

I am, but am not, how I see myself.

I am, but am not, how others see me.

I am, but am not, my history and memories.

I am, above all, being-in-the-world.

I share this identity with you. We are all in this together.

Leave a Reply

